Asexual Brother?

So I’ve always wondered what my brother thinks about sexuality and last week I asked him. He’s 19 to be 20, he has asperger and mostly acts like he’s 14. I talked to him about sexuality not being black and white. I told him what bisexuality, pansexuality and asexuality was. That you can love and find anyone attractive, or you don’t have to feel attracted to anyone at all and that’s okay. I told I was asking since when he came to visit me where I lived I shared my apartment with a gay couple and I wanted to know how comfortable he’d been with that. He answered that he hadn’t really thought about it. Then I asked him what he thought he liked. He hesitated a bit and the said that he didn’t really feel attracted to anyone, boy or girl. I told him that’s okay, and it is. If he later on in life settles down with a woman I won’t give it much thought, and even if I think it’s unlikely that he’ll ever settle down that way with a boy, I wouldn’t bat an eyelash. As it is, my brother doesn’t like either boys or girls and if that is how it’ll be for the rest of his life, I’ll support him fully, as I always have.

One thought on “Asexual Brother?

  1. Oh I saw an excellent documentary on Asexuality recently. It was very interesting- I had never really considered a vibrant asexual community before! In any event
    My name is Rischa. I’m a queer womyn, and I’m dedicated to making sure that our voices and experiences of people in our community are represented in research. I would be so appreciative if you could spread the word about a study I’m running on the way LBQ womyn (trans inclusive) think and act after specific social situations.
    How can you help? Participate and post this anonymous survey!

    You can complete a brief, anonymous 20-minute survey by going to http://www.lbqresearch.wordpress.com If you would prefer, I could also provide you with a hard copy of the survey and a self-addressed envelop. If you or anyone you know is interested in participating, or if you have any questions pertaining to this study, please contact me, S. Rischa Gottlieb at rischag@gmail.com

    Make sure your experiences are heard, be a part of LBQ research!

    This study had been approved by the St. John’s University IRB. Thank you for your time.

    Cheers & With Pride,

    Rischa

    Like

Leave a Reply

